2023 CMA Awards

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE - MAY 12: Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini pose during a host promo shoot for the 2021 CMT Music Awards on May 12, 2021 in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by John Shearer/2021 CMT Awards/Getty Images for CMT)

2023 CMT Awards; Country’s Top-Charted Artists & More Will Take Stage…

This year’s 2023 CMT awards will be hosted by Country singer’s Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini.

2023 CMT Awards
Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini hosting in 2021. JOHN SHEARER/2021 CMT AWARDS/GETTY IMAGES FOR CMT

Brown and Ballerini are both returning as co-hosts for Ballerini’s third time and Brown’s fourth to take on the night of hosting.

The CMT Awards will take place at the Moody Center in Austin, Texas on Sunday (April 2). You can watch LIVE on CBS at 7 p.m. CT.

Lainey Wilson leads with 4 nominations, including:  video of the year, female video of the year, collaborative video of the year (“Wait in the Truck”) and CMT performance of the year (for her “Never Say Never” performance with Cole Swindell on the 2022 CMT Music Awards).

2023 CMT Awards
April Is Autism Awareness Month.

Following Lainey, with three nods each are co-host Brown, Cody Johnson and first-time nominee Jelly Roll. Ballerini is up for two awards, including the coveted video of the year.

Check out last year’s CMT Awards HERE!

Performances of the night include: Shania Twain, Alanis Morissette with Ingrid Andress, Lainey Wilson, Madeline Edwards and Morgan Wade, The Black Crowes & Darius Rucker, Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Paul Rodgers, Billy Gibbons, Chuck Leavell, Slash and Warren Haynes with LeAnn Rimes and Wynonna, Gary Clark Jr, Gwen Stefani & Carly Pearce, Jelly Roll, Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson, Tyler Hubbard, and Wynonna & Ashley McBryde.

Full List of nominations (below)

Thanks for visiting Music Assent ♪ Please hit the subscribe button for further stories, new music and more! Like on FB & Instagram @Music_Assent

Video of the year

Ashley McBryde, Caylee Hammack, Brandy Clark & Pillbox Patti – “Bonfire At Tina’s”
Blake Shelton – “No Body”
Carrie Underwood – “Hate My Heart”
Cody Johnson – “Human”
Elle King feat. Dierks Bentley – “Worth A Shot”
Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”
HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”
Jimmie Allen – “Down Home”
Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts”
Kelsea Ballerini – “HEARTFIRST”
Little Big Town – “Rich Man”
Luke Bryan – “Country On”
Luke Combs – “The Kind Of Love We Make”
Morgan Wallen – “You Proof”
Walker Hayes – “AA”

Female video of the year

Carly Pearce – “What He Didn’t Do”
Carrie Underwood – “Ghost Story”
Gabby Barrett – “Pick Me Up”
Kelsea Ballerini – “HEARTFIRST”
Lainey Wilson – “Heart Like A Truck”
Maren Morris – “Humble Quest”
Miranda Lambert – “Actin’ Up”

Male video of the year

Bailey Zimmerman – “Rock and A Hard Place”
Cody Johnson – “Human”
Cole Swindell – “She Had Me At Heads Carolina”
Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner”
Kane Brown – “Like I Love Country Music”
Luke Combs – “The Kind Of Love We Make”
Morgan Wallen – “Wasted On You”

Group/duo video of the year

Dan + Shay – “You (Performance Video)”
Lady A – “Summer State Of Mind”
Little Big Town – “Hell Yeah”
Parmalee – “Take My Name”
The War And Treaty – “That’s How Love Is Made”
Zac Brown Band – “Out In The Middle”

Breakthrough female video of the year

Avery Anna – “Narcissist”
Kylie Morgan – “If He Wanted To He Would”
MacKenzie Porter – “Pickup”
Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange”
Morgan Wade – “Wilder Days”
Tiera Kennedy – “Found It In You”

Breakthrough male video of the year

Bailey Zimmerman – “Fall In Love”
Corey Kent – “Wild as Her”
Drake Milligan – “Sounds Like Something I’d Do”
Jackson Dean – “Don’t Come Lookin’”
Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner”
Nate Smith – “Whiskey On You”

Collaborative video of the year

Elle King feat. Dierks Bentley – “Worth A Shot”
HARDY feat. Lainey Wilson – “wait in the truck”
Ingrid Andress with Sam Hunt – “Wishful Drinking”
Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
Midland feat. Jon Pardi – “Longneck Way To Go”
Russell Dickerson feat. Jake Scott – “She Likes It”
Thomas Rhett & Katy Perry – “Where We Started”

CMT performance of the year

Black Pumas & Mickey Guyton – “Colors” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
Chris Stapleton – “Whenever You Come Around” (from CMT Giants: Vince Gill)
Cody Johnson – “‘Til You Can’t” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
Cole Swindell & Lainey Wilson – “Never Say Never” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
Darius Rucker – “Let Her Cry” (from CMT Storytellers)
Emmy Russell & Lukas Nelson – “Lay Me Down” (from Coal Miner’s Daughter: A Celebration of the Life & Music of Loretta Lynn)
Keith Urban – “Wild Hearts” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
LeAnn Rimes with Ashley McBryde & Carly Pearce – “One Way Ticket” (from CMT Crossroads: LeAnn Rimes & Friends)
The Judds – “Love Can Build A Bridge” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
Wynonna Judd & Brandi Carlile – “The Rose” (from Naomi Judd: A River of Time Celebration)

CMT digital-first performance of the year

Charley Crockett – “Time of the Cottonwood Trees“ (from CMT Campfire Sessions)
Chris Young – “Gettin’ You Home” (from CMT Stages)
Ingrid Andress – “Wishful Drinking” (from CMT Studio Sessions)
Jelly Roll – “Son of A Sinner” (from CMT All Access)
Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange” (from CMT Viral To Verified)
Scotty McCreery – “Damn Strait” (from CMT Campfire Sessions)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Enjoy this blog? Please spread the word :)